jump to navigation

Mundane observations May 14, 2006

Posted by Administrator in Family.
trackback

My dog continues to be an idiot.

Sees one of the cats in the front yard.

Runs after it.

Forgetting he is chained up.

For the umpteenth time.

At full-tilt-boogie speed, reaches the end of the chain, nearly chokes himself to death.

On the other hand, I just got back from Mass where my daughter cantored (for the first time ever) and was backed by her beautiful mother on the violin. Wow. She sang like a boid. It was wonderful.

Comments»

1. IndianCowboy - May 15, 2006

yipes I need to take a page from your book and give myself a self-imposed hiatus from scienceblogs.com

I just went nuts on Brayton (dispatches) in his ‘political refrigerator magnets’

2. demolition65 - May 16, 2006

uh oh. I’ll check it out.

3. Joe Mammy - May 16, 2006

You are hardly an “independent”!

The true independent is not only
not tied to Catholicism, but also
has a more neutral view on the
abortion issue. It isn’t even a
valid “political” issue.

Get real, lamebrain!

4. demolition65 - May 16, 2006

Whatever, Mr. Mammy. Believe it or not, Catholics are capable of critical thought, unlike folks like you, who uncritically accept the traditional wisdom that all Catholics are thoughtless automatons, etc.

Find some new material, rotohead!

Oh, and it might serve you well to actually comment on the thread that political independence was mentioned, as opposed to one where I am talking about dogs.

Makes you look like you don’t know what the bleep you’re talking about.

5. IndianCowboy - May 16, 2006

so let me get this straight. Independent=not catholic? I dont remember reading that independence from either party requires you to belong or not to belong to a given creed.

Independent=specific position on any issue?

In my youthful innocence I’d assumed that ‘independent’ implied that one did not toe the line of either mainstream party. That an independent could hold any political view they wish, just that they weren’t accurately represented by either party.

6. demolition65 - May 16, 2006

Thank you, IC. Your very last clause hits it on the head. Neither the Evil Party (Donkeys) nor the Stupid Party (pachyderms) represents my views.

7. IndianCowboy - May 17, 2006

are you a kim du toit fan?

8. demolition65 - May 17, 2006

Hadn’t heard of du Toit until I saw your mention of him/her and Googled the name. Looks interesting. . .I’ll have to look around.

I must say that I am not a vociferous 2nd Amendment defender. I do believe in it, but there are components of it -such as the possession of semi-autos and beyond- that I do have trouble with.

9. IndianCowboy - May 17, 2006

meh I’ll bring you around, don’t you worry. LIke I said in the ‘carry gun’ post, I became an ardent 2a supporter well before I ever felt like I wanted to shoot a gun.

I’d only ever heard the stupid vs. evil party thing from Kim, that’s why I was wondering.

10. demolition65 - May 17, 2006

Ah. I got the Stupid v Evil idea from Mark Shea. (The “Catholic and Enjoying It” link on my sidebar). Another good, classical liberal.


Leave a Reply

