jump to navigation

Un. Fricking. Hinged. July 30, 2006

Posted by Administrator in Cultural Pessimism, Liberal Hypocrisy, Mechanistic Relativism, Stupid Party vs Evil Party.
trackback

I mean, really.

Some of the choicer quotes.

Fallujah. Signing statements. Abu Ghraib.

Waterboarding. Stress positions. Free speech zones.

The theological and historical differences between Sunni and Shi’ite. How levees are constructed. Why levees fail.

These are things I knew nothing about until George W. Bush.

(snip)

Some nights I go to sleep under this administration and wonder: What new horror am I going to have cram into my head tomorrow morning? What new form of torture? What unfamiliar town or province?

My brain’s been hijacked and my eagerness to read news killed. I know too much now compared with how much I knew in the innocent 1990’s. And there seems no way to un-know it or bleach it clean of the flavor of its original acquisition.
(snip)
When I was 20, I was in a serious car accident. . .The day I was released from the hospital, I went home and took a shower, the first in nearly six weeks. As I lathered up – a luxury I can still savor in memory after weeks and weeks of bed-bound sponge baths – my fingers found, underneath my arm and along my shoulder blade, embedded pieces of gravel and glass that had not been properly debrided. I realized they were going to be a part of me forever because my flesh had already healed over them.
I feel like George W. Bush and his policies are gravel and glass in my brain. Forever.

The final deranged point being, I suppose, that the knowledge this poor woman has been forced to gain these past five years is more than she can handle, and she equates these bits of knowledge with the horror she experienced in her car accident.

Perhaps, if Clinton were still in office, we could instead contemplate the actions of a President obsessed with getting fat young interns to fellate him, and the meanings of terms like “Sex, lies and fellatio” and to focus on that, rather than a culture that desires to wipe us off the face of the earth.

If Clinton/Gore were still in power, we wouldn’t face that threat, because Bill and his ilk would be too busy chasing skirts, ignoring the threat of Islamofacism, and the NOW would simply nod in agreement, since they keep the abortion license available.

While the Kossacks would be whining that not enough aid is being sent to the Islamofacists, since that is the source of their rage.  We have, and they don’t.

When the reality is that we are not Islamic, and they are. 

Yeah. Sure. Let’s go back to the alternative.

Kos never ceases to amaze.

Comments»

1. Sophist - July 30, 2006

…she equates these bits of knowledge with the horror she experienced in her car accident.

No, she equates the bits of knowledge with the indelible reminders of her accident, not the accident itself. If you’re going to mock her analogy you ought to at least have a clue what it is first. Or is this another article you didn’t actually read before trashing?

Perhaps, if Clinton were still in office, we could instead contemplate the actions of a President obsessed with getting fat young interns to fellate him, and the meanings of terms like “Sex, lies and fellatio” and to focus on that, rather than a culture that desires to wipe us off the face of the earth.

Well, thats is what the Republicans did the first time around, so you’re right—there’s some precident there. Oh, and I liked the irrelevant fat bashing you slipped in there. Classy.

2. demolition65 - July 30, 2006

she equates the bits of knowledge with the indelible reminders of her accident, Fine. You wish to pick grammatical cavils, that is your prerogative. The point was that she is equating the Bush presidency with her accident. Which is absurd.

The Republicans made it an issue because Clinton was morally bankrupt; but apparently you are one with NOW in dismissing his abuse of women in the name of pragmatism.

As for the “fat” comment, I was giving an hommage to Hunter Thompson, not making a direct comment upon Ms. Lewinsky. Get over yourself.

3. labyrus - July 31, 2006

What does torturing people have to do with dealing with a terrorist threat? Are you saying that torture is a neccesary part of the war on terror? That being shocked by Abu Graihb and Guantanamo Bay is unreasonable because we should expect torture to happen in a time of war?

4. demolition65 - July 31, 2006

What does torturing people have to do with dealing with a terrorist threat? Are you saying that torture is a neccesary part of the war on terror? Where exactly are these points addressed in isolation? Did I say that torture was a good thing? Was the Kossack diary focused only upon torture.

No.

You are attempting to cast aspersions upon my point by insinuating that I support torture. Nothing of the sort. What I AM addressing is the Left’s continued unhinged efforts to deride/hate all things Bush.

And for the record, I am opposed to the use of torture. There are many things in this administration I am opposed to. I am a registered Independent in part because I cannot abide elements of Republican philosophy.

But what I am even MORE opposed to is the blind, group-think, never-ending hatred spewing from the supposedly compassionate Left. And I cannot believe, after 8 years of morally bankrupt Clinton leadership, that the Left can summon anything better.


Leave a Reply

