jump to navigation

CNN playing favorites??? August 1, 2006

Posted by Administrator in Cultural Pessimism, Liberal Hypocrisy, MSM.
trackback

LINK

I don’t comment much upon this.  The Anchoress has summed it up pretty fairly, I think.

But take a look at that CNN link at the top of the post.  Scroll through the pictures.  It is difficult for me to do the following:

  1. Fully excuse Gibson.  As a married man, I find his cavorting with women not his wife, however “tamely”, repulsive
  2. Forgive CNN.  It seems to me that they have their hatchet out, fully sharpened, and they are using it to beat Gibson silly.

Now let us note: “Excuse” and “Forgive” are not synonyms.  There is nothing for me to forgive.  He did not attack Catholics, or Irishmen, or citizens of the Northwest, or Catholic schoolteachers, parents, or community theater participants.  He didn’t slur me in any way.  There is nothing for me to forgive.  But he did act like an ass the other night, no question, and he let himself get out of control.  And he is paying the piper big time.  And that may well be a good thing.

But the question arises:  Would CNN give the same treatment to any man who was NOT a professed Catholic?  Who thumbed his nose at the traditional Hollywood establishment in creating a film as successful as The Passion of the Christ?  Not that CNN treats others with kid gloves.

But with Gibson, I detect a certain note of kicking a man while he is down.  Putting him in the stocks. Placing him on the rack.

And I think CNN, as well as much of the rest of the MSM, is enjoying it.

And I think it is directly tied into the liberal bias in the media.

Comments»

1. Dana - August 2, 2006

I think you are right. Other groups are slurred all the time by top stars with nary a shrug from the media. Now I suppose there is a difference when it comes from someone as openly Catholic as Gibson…there is a hint of hypocracy to it that perhaps makes it more of a story than Madonna’s antics.

The reaction to the story has been more interesting than the story itself. And connects ever so well to the post I landed on to get here on dehumanization. (an April post, if I’m not mistaken).


Leave a Reply

