jump to navigation

Who to vote for? September 12, 2006

Posted by Administrator in Cultural Pessimism, Liberal Hypocrisy, Liberal self-loathing, MSM, Politics, Stupid Party vs Evil Party.
trackback

Look: Let’s get one thing clear right now before we go any farther.

I hold no brief of unbridled support for the Bush Administration. A great illustration of its shortcomings might be found here (search for Meanwhile, in the Global War on Terror)

Another one can be found here from The Smart Man, Ross Douthat.

I can still remember doing research for a project on population growth for my AP Biology class, around 1997 or so, and being astonished to discover that all the dire predictions of looming disaster that I’d heard throughout my childhood were just recyclings of Paul Ehrlich’s dated alarmism – and that the greater threat might be something else entirely.

(snip)

So it’s been depressing, in the Bush years, to watch various conservatives take on the role that liberals played in my childhood and adolescence, by swaddling themselves in delusions about how the world actually is – whether it’s the weird and persistent Bush-worship, the constant “good news from Iraq” drumbeat, the desperate “we found the WMDs” meme, or basically every word that comes out of Donald Rumsfeld’s mouth.

Look. I can’t say that Bush has been the Second Coming of Ronald Reagan. Yet it’s way to soon too brand him with the Grant/Harding brush. All that being said, I am not filled with enthusiasm for the man.

Yet, let’s take a good, jaundiced look at the alternative, as amply assaulted here, here, here, and here, just for starters.

This is when I begin to despair. The Democratic Party alternative is so much worse, (with the possible exception of Bob Casey of Pennsylvania) and that is also why I spend so much of my time here assaulting it. Lies, blindness, dogma masquerading as patriotism, suppression of free speech, doctrinaire horsefeathers parading as informed commentary. . .being guilty of all the sins they accuse Republicans of committing and then committing them in an even MORE flagrant fashion.

In 1984, disgusted with both Reagan and Mondale, I cast my first presidential vote -as a mindlessly callow 19 year old- for Bill and Opus.

24 years later. . .I’m giving serious thought to Calvin and Hobbes.

Comments»

1. Joe - September 13, 2006

Hey, Hoody! Long time no comment. Calvin and Hobbes sounds pretty darn good to me (I get to vote in ’08!)

We could use some help on the Hog, just FYI. Pete made a rather large mistake (at least I’m hoping it was a mistake), and just made a large post basically advocating gay “marriage”. So please feel free to leave your two cents.

On a happier note, I just made myself a new blog that I included the link to in the url field of this combox utilizing the new toolkit offered by blogger in beta! hoo yes.

2. demolition65 - September 13, 2006

Ask, and ye shall receive.

3. Joe - September 13, 2006

Thanx! Nice comment, btw.


Leave a Reply

