jump to navigation

Amanda Quits February 13, 2007

Posted by Administrator in Blogging, Catholicism, Cultural Pessimism, Idiots, Pandamansanity, Politics.
trackback

UPDATE 2-13-07, 5:17 PM PDT: Below is a link to Amanda’s apologetic posted on Pandagon, as opposed to her actual resignation statement.

Here is a quote -apparently- from that resignation:

I was hired by the Edwards campaign for the skills and talents I bring to the table, and my willingness to work hard for what’s right. Unfortunately, Bill Donohue and his calvacade of right wing shills don’t respect that a mere woman like me could be hired for my skills, and pretended that John Edwards had to be held accountable for some of my personal, non-mainstream views on religious influence on politics (I’m anti-theocracy, for those who were keeping track). Bill Donohue–anti-Semite, right wing lackey whose entire job is to create non-controversies in order to derail liberal politics–has been running a scorched earth campaign to get me fired for my personal beliefs and my writings on this blog.

In fact, he’s made no bones about the fact that his intent is to “silence” me, as if he–a perfect stranger–should have a right to curtail my freedom of speech. Why? Because I’m a woman? Because I’m pro-choice? Because I’m not religious? All of the above, it seems.

Regardless, it was creating a situation where I felt that every time I coughed, I was risking the Edwards campaign. No matter what you think about the campaign, I signed on to be a supporter and a tireless employee for them, and if I can’t do the job I was hired to do because Bill Donohue doesn’t have anything better to do with his time than harass me, then I won’t do it. I resigned my position today and they accepted.

There is good news. The main good news is that I don’t have a conflict of interest issue anymore that was preventing me from defending myself against these baseless accusations. So it’s on. The other good news is that the blogosphere has risen as one and protested, loudly, the influence a handful of well-financed right wing shills have on the public discourse.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Link here (as Pandagon apparently is getting blitzed with traffic. . so it’s suspended for the time being.)

Main phrase:

Update: To correct misinformation in the comments, I was not “fired”. I offered my resignation and it was accepted.

Someone predicted this. . .I can’t remember who. I thought she would last a bit longer. . .say at least a week if not a month.

She then proceeds to go on one of her standard rants about how she was done in by the Patriarchy, and she quotes Jesus forgiving the prostitute, telling her to go and sin no more.

Which would be excellent in Amanda’s case, except she hasn’t admitted to any sinning.

She also goes to great lengths to quote all kinds of crazed hate mail she has received, claiming that it comes from “Christians.” I’ll not quote any here, but will say that anyone claiming to be Christian and sending that trash to Amanda, no matter how satisfying it may feel to do, tarnishes the mission of Christ. You asshats needs to shut up, and I mean yesterday.

If you can’t see that Christ has no use for this sort of conversation with Amanda,m then quit for no other reason than you give Amanda the opportunity to shift the blame from her own hate speech to that of yours. I would not be surprised to see her haul out the playground argument in response: “SEE?? HATE speech!!! I’m just responding in kind!!!”

I find it flat-out bizarre that she would retreat to the Bible now as a means of defending her current behavior, and requesting that people back off of her.
Weird, Amanda. I thought you had no use for the Bible.

UPDATE:

Once again, the Anchoress sums it all up very nicely indeed.

Other reads: Wizbang(excellent), PoliticalPitBull, Goldstein (VERY acerbic), OutsidetheBeltway. Villainous Company, as serious a smackdown as one could want.
She hasn’t learned a thing. This whole situation could provide her some badly needed humility, significantly increased the quallity of her writing and perhaps cheered her up some.

But no. She’s a victim, done in by the Patriarchy, and now has grist for her rage mill that will keep her fingers ocucpied for at least weeks, if not months.

It’s sad, really.

Hilarious quote from Patterico on what Amanda will do next, now that she can return to Pandagon and vent her full spleen there. . .

I have a feeling she’s going to tell us what Jesus did say. And it’s going to involve the f-word.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

