jump to navigation

Myers now admits to belief in supernatural April 1, 2007

Posted by Administrator in Idiots, Liberal Hypocrisy, Pharyngulism.
trackback

Here.

Money:

I’ve often said that I’m not a spiritual person, and that I don’t believe in any kind of spirituality at all. I do believe, however, that objects can be imbued with meaning beyond their simple physical parameters; they can carry a burden of history and intent that, when you know it, can trigger deeper feelings than mere matter would warrant. If I were to own such an item, I know that I could not touch it without feeling revulsion for its authors, and reverence for its victims, and that I would set it aside from my ordinary library as something more than just a book.

Of course, then he tries to back and fill that this is not a belief in the supernatural.

The irony in this is that the evil that he claims the book to be imbued with (and I would in no way disagree with him; the author appended his drawings with a swastika):

is anchored in purely human evil, and purely human sacrifice—it is a morbid reminder of what we can do.

I call bull fertlizer, Myers, when you say in the end that you do not believe in the supernatural. In your reaction to this book you are describing something that may not be verified by the third act of the mind. You have faith, Doctor.

Good on you for finally coming out of the closet and admitting it. Now, shed your hypocrisy regarding the rest of us who have faith.

Comments»

1. Paul - April 2, 2007

“that objects can be imbued with meaning beyond their simple physical parameters”

This is could easilt be all about sentiment that one attaches to an object, rather than a supernatural attachment. I have a wedding ring, that is more valuable to me than any ring, even one made of more valuable material monetarily. This does not require supernatural belief.

2. demolition65 - April 2, 2007

So, emotional attachment. Doesn’t exist in the arid world of PZ Myers. It can’t be replicated in the lab.

Setting that aside: “I know that I could not touch it without feeling revulsion for its authors, and reverence for its victims, and that I would set it aside from my ordinary library as something more than just a book.”

The book has become greater than other books. This is not rational.


Leave a Reply

