jump to navigation

Well, by golly, that does it. April 10, 2007

Posted by Administrator in atheism, Blogging, Catholicism, Cultural Pessimism, Idiots.
trackback

I must now join forces with the Atheists. A Brit atheist has convinced me beyond a shadow of a doubt that my faith -and my reason- have bene duped all these years.

Yes, the inimitable logic of Myers, Dawkins, Dennett, Harris and Stenger have finally been diluted down to a basic formula that even the simple-minded like me can grasp, and it repudiates in all possible forms the delusion of religious faith.

It is so convincing, I must share it:

. . .several of my colleagues on these pages in The Times — honestly entertain the possibility that from beyond the grave the late Pope John Paul II interceded with God to cause a woman to be cured of Parkinson’s disease.

(snip)

“But how can you be sure?” Oh boy, am I sure. Oh great quivering mountains of pious mumbo-jumbo, am I sure. Oh fathomless oceans of sanctified babble, am I sure. Words cannot express my confidence in the answer to the question whether God cured a nun because she wrote a Pope’s name down. He didn’t. Mere language does no justice to my certainty about whether God might be waiting for the return to their Biblical lands of the Israelites, before arranging the Second Coming. He isn’t.

Shout it from the rooftops. Write it on walls. Carve it into rock. He didn’t. He isn’t. He won’t.

Breathtaking in its simplicity, yet utterly convincing in its logic.

PS: For those of you suffering from Krakenitis, this post is designed to be ironic.

For a proper takedown on the mindless foolishness of this British bloviator, go see Mark Shea here.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

