jump to navigation

Virginia woman blames Bush for her getting an abortion June 4, 2006

Posted by Administrator in Cultural Pessimism, Liberal Hypocrisy.
trackback

Bush Derangement Syndrome (BDS) hits an all time high, with a 42 year old Virginia lawyer claiming that it is the fault of the Bush Administration, and the seeping of "religion into politics".

Come with me on a trip down the rabbit hole. . .

After having intercourse with her husband without "proper" use of contraception, this modern-day Jane Roe, (going by the nom de plume of Dana L., as she is afraid of her "family's privacy") begins casting about for access to the Plan B pill, the supposed non-abortifacient morning-after pill that has to be used within 72 hours of intercourse. But, she has some difficulty:

The receptionist, however, informed me that my doctor did not prescribe Plan B. No reason given. Neither did my internist. The midwifery practice I had used could prescribe it, but not over the phone, and there were no more open appointments for the day. The weekend — and the end of the 72-hour window — was approaching.

Deciding simply to "take her chances", she ends up pregnant after all. Then the recriminations begin.

I thought of the emotional upheavals that an unplanned pregnancy would cause our family. . .

I became angry. I knew that Plan B, which could have prevented it, was supposed to have been available over the counter by now. But I also remembered hearing that conservative politics have held up its approval.

. . .the FDA top brass overruled the advisory panel and gave the thumbs-down to over-the-counter sales of Plan B, requesting more data on how girls younger than 16 could use it safely without a doctor's supervision.

Which seems like an eminently reasonable conclusion to me.

The rant continues:

Apparently, one of the concerns is that ready availability of Plan B could lead teenage girls to have premarital sex. Yet this concern — valid or not — wound up penalizing an over-the-hill married woman for having sex with her husband.

One would not categorize a 42-year old woman as "over the hill". My wife and I object. But, the "inconvenience" is in place for Dana now.

Back to the recriminations:

I hadn't even been able to get Plan B with a prescription that Friday, because in Virginia, health-care practitioners apparently are allowed to refuse to prescribe any drug that goes against their beliefs. Although I had heard of pharmacists refusing to fill prescriptions for birth control on religious grounds, I was dumbfounded to find that doctors could do the same thing.Moreover, they aren't even required to tell the patient why they won't provide the drug.

Let's see: They allow lawyers to refuse to defend people they know to be guilty; they allow people to conscientiously object to war, to the death penalty (thereby removing them from jury duty). A doctor may not enjoy similar rights? I hadn't heard that doctors are simply now to become the purveyors of whatever drugs a "customer" may "want" at a given time. Does this not render medical personnel to the level of "servant"?

I had asked the ob-gyn's receptionist if politics was the reason the doctor wouldn't prescribe Plan B for me.

For Dana, if her doctor had a moral objection, it equate to a "political" objection. Such is the liberal mentality.

And finally the piece de resistance:

In any event, they were also partly responsible for why I was stuck that Friday, and why I was ultimately forced to confront the decision to terminate my third pregnancy.

Um, nope. That came about because your husband and you engaged in intercourse during your fertile period. Which you could have either avoided, or taken the time to use those contraceptive methods that you already partake of. Blaming the doctor is a classic case of shifting the responsibility.

She then goes on to describe her unpleasant experience obtaining an abortion, including the following:

I opted to have the procedure done on a Saturday in downtown D.C. while my husband took the kids to the Smithsonian.

All the while, I was thinking that if religion hadn't been allowed to seep into American politics the way it has, I wouldn't even be there. This all could have been stopped way before this baby was conceived if they had just let me have that damn pill.

But I feel that this administration gave me practically no choice but to have an unwanted abortion because the way it has politicized religion made it well-nigh impossible for me to get emergency contraception that would have prevented the pregnancy in the first place.

So to sum up: We have a married woman (and she is to be applauded for being married) engaging in intercourse with her husband, but wanting to have that without the attendant responsibility of future pregnancy. She normally takes steps to avoid same, but bails on them this time, scrambles to address the situation, is halted by a combination of poor timing and those pesky morals of her doctor, gets pregnant, kills the baby, and then blames Bush.

Am I the only one who detects some serious cognitive dissonance here, and a profoundly pathological need to place the blame elsewhere?

By all means, call me heartless and insensitive. Un-Christian, if you please. I am truly sorry for the position the woman is in, but she placed herself there, all on her lonesome. What I am MORE sorry about is the fact that the woman had a tremendous opportunity to bring a new life into her world.

Instead, she killed it, and is now using this tragic and unnecessary set of circumstances to further BDS.

LINK

Further commentary on this idiocy here (look at what Bush made me do!!), here, and here

Comments»

1. OK so I’m not really a cowboy. » The Virginia Woman Who Blames Her Abortion On Bush - June 6, 2006

[…] Via Hoody (read his post first) […]

2. IndianCowboy - June 6, 2006

http://www.indiancowboy.net/blog/?p=217

my comment got kinda long. One of my super-rare faith-based political positions. (conservation being arguably the other one)

3. Roy - June 6, 2006

Right on!

4. Right Wing Nation » Blog Archive » You Won’t Believe This - June 12, 2006

[…] So this woman gets an abortion, and guess whose fault it is. […]

5. Valintino - May 4, 2007

Hello, Your site is great. Regards, Valintino Guxxi


Leave a comment